Cubbon Park, Officially called Sri Chamarajendra Park is a milestone 'lung' zone of the Bengaluru city, found (12.97°N 77.6°E) inside the core of the city in the Central Administrative Area. Initially made in 1870, when Major General Richard Sankey was the then British Chief Engineer of Mysore state, it secured a zone of 100 sections of land (0.40 km2) and consequent extension has occurred and the territory detailed presently is around 300 sections of land (1.2 km2). It has a rich written history of bounteous verdure ranches combined with various noteworthy and tastefully found structures and statues of well known personages, in its precincts. This open stop was first named as Meade's Park after Sir John Meade, the acting Commissioner of Mysuru in 1870 and hence renamed as Cubbon Park after the longest-serving official of the time, Sir Mark Cubbon. To recognize the Silver Jubilee of Sri Krishnaraja Wodeyar's administer in Mysore State, in 1927, the recreation center was again renamed as Sri. Chamarajendra Park, in memory of the nineteenth century leader of the state Sri Chamarajendra Wodeyar (1868– 94), amid whose run the recreation center came into existence. The arranging in the recreation center imaginatively coordinates normal shake outcrops with bushes of trees, huge bamboos, with lush field and flowerbeds and the landmarks inside its points of confinement, directed by the Horticulture Department of the Government of Karnataka. The transcendently green territory of the recreation center has numerous motorable streets, and the well-spread out strolling ways going through the recreation center are frequented by early morning walkers and the naturalists who think about plants in the serene common environment.
Cubbon Park, Officially called Sri Chamarajendra Park is a milestone 'lung' zone of the Bengaluru city.